Related Services

 

School Psychology:

In each of the Vernon Public Schools, School Psychologists help students succeed academically, socially, behaviorally, and emotionally by focusing on growing the whole-child. Psychologists work directly with students, and on their behalf, by consulting with comprehensive teams made up of teachers, parents, administrators and other school professionals. Some of the responsibilities of School Psychologists are to; provide individual and/or group counseling, deliver classroom lessons on a variety of topics, conduct evaluations to determine eligibility for special education, enhance home-school collaboration and coordinate community support services, design and implement academic and behavioral interventions in partnership with teachers, collect and analyze student data to ensure and promote a safe climate, and to respond to crises by providing leadership and coordination with the best interest of the student in mind.

Staff

Sarah Davis
Center Road School
sarah.davis@vernonct.org
 
Carol Berger, Ph.D.
Lake Street School
carol.berger@vernonct.org
 
Elizabeth Terrell
Maple Street School
elizabet.terrell@vernonct.org 
 
Kristin Tingey
Northeast School
kristin.tingey@vernonct.org 
 
Sarah LaPere
Skinner Road School
sarah.lapere@vernonct.org  
Marybeth Fafalla
Vernon Center Middle School
marybeth.fafalla@vernonct.org  
John Driscoll, Ph.D. 
 Rockville High School
john.driscoll@vernonct.org
 

 

Speech and Language Pathology:


Speech and Language Pathologists (SLPs) provide services to students who meet eligibility criteria for services. Services are provided in various groupings (individual and small group) dependent upon student need. Focus of instruction, whether taking place in the regular education classroom or within a resource room setting, includes articulation, expressive and receptive language, speech fluency and voice, and pragmatic language. SLPs consult with teachers and link their objectives and lesson foci to the curriculum, when appropriate.
 

Staff

Nicole Lattanzio 
Center Road School
nicole.lattanzio@vernonct.org
 
Cindy Brown  
Lake Street School
cynthia.brown@vernonct.org 
 
Courtney Dussault
Maple Street School
courtney.dussault@vernonct.org
 
Lauren McMaster
Northeast School
lauren.mcmaster@vernonct.org
 
Heather Mangold 
Skinner Road School
heather.mangold@vernonct.org  
Elisha Cohen
Vernon Center Middle School
elisha.cohen@vernonct.org
Gabrielle Badea
 Rockville High School
gabrielle.badea@vernonct.org
 

                                                                                   

Occupational Therapy/Physical Therapy:

Occupational and Physical Therapy are related services provided to students through an Individualized Education Plan when they require “developmental, corrective and other supportive services” to have their educational needs met. School-based therapists focus on assisting students to acquire the functional abilities necessary to access educational materials and adapt to their educational environment. They may support students with daily activities related to educational participation, adapt the performance context, teach alternative methods, or facilitate the use of assistive devices.  Both OTs and PTs provide supportive and therapeutic services to students with varied gross motor and fine motor deficits. They consult with regular classroom teachers to support students in the general education environment.

Occupational Therapists

Alyssa Boutillier
CRS/LSS/SRS
alyssa.boutillier@vernonct.org  
Allison Dalton
MSS/VCMS/RHS
allison.dalton@vernonct.org
Tammy Page
NES and SRS
tammy.page@vernonct.org

Physical Therapists

Lori Suzik
CRS/NES/SRS
lori.suzik@vernonct.org    
Sarah Zahner
MSS/VCMS/RHS
sarah.zahner@vernonct.org
 

 

Social Work:

School Social Workers work to ensure that the social and emotional well-being of all students allows for them to achieve success in the educational environment and in the community. They accomplish this by providing counseling, consultation and advocacy in collaboration with school staff, families, and through mobilizing community resources and partners.  Responsibilities include helping students develop the skills necessary for school success, such as organization, time management, study habits and behaviors, and social skills. Creating a safe place for students to share their feelings, fears and concerns that may affect them while they are at school is a top priority.

Staff

Karen Schiffmacher   
Center Road School
karen.schiffmacher@vernonct.org
 
Lorinda Spivey 
Center Road School
Renaissance Program
lorinda.spivey@vernonct.org
 

Megan Duffy
Maple Street School
megan.duffy@vernonct.org

Jevan Whitaker
Northeast School
jevan.whitaker@vernonct.org 

 
Maria Turchi
VCMS/RHS
maria.turchi@vernonct.org  
Debbie Dean
Vernon Center Middle School
deborah.dean@vernonct.org
Ann Cilfone
 TALC
ann.cilfone@vernonct.org  
Diane Madore
 Rockville High School
diane.madore@vernonct.org 

                                                                                          

Teacher of the Hearing Impaired:

The Teacher of the Hearing Impaired provides direct instruction and consultative services to students diagnosed with varying degrees of hearing loss. Services are individualized dependent upon student need but can include using aural/oral methods, sign language, and/or cochlear implant therapies. Additional services include diagnostic testing, intense language based instruction, auditory therapy, speech production and consultation with parents and general education classroom teachers.

Staff

Nancy Martin
CRS
nancy.martin@vernonct.org

 


Vernon Public Schools Mission Statement

The Vernon Public Schools, in partnership with family and community, is committed to provide a quality education, with
high expectations, in a safe environment where all students become independent learners and productive contributors to society.